This blox has a picture of my Oma, or Grandmother,  just after she had moved to America. My Grandfather went over to Germany during WWII and there he met the beautiful, Waltraud Mueler. They were married in Germany and she flew to the United States, while he stayed behind to finish his service. She was picked up at the airport by his parents, whom she had never met and she could barely speak English. The few times I have heard my Oma tell this story, I have been impressed by her courage to leave behind her old life and start a new one. That is one of the reason’s I love Malamud’s stories so much. He tells stories of immigrants, who thanks to my Oma, I know had to have a lot of courage to do what they did.

The Bobers just moved out of their Jewish neighborhood into a non-Jewish section of Brooklyn. They left behind their friends and a sense of home; to an area full of antisemitism.

The picture of my Oma has been placed over a picture of a grocery store. I liked the idea that my Grandma has been put in Bober’s story. Anyone could be put in Bober’s story, we can all relate to the struggles of one family. I want the picture to show that all of our families have had struggles in the past, at one point, all of our families were immigrants.

To the  Africans, Irish, Chinese, Japanese, and many others had to move from their homeland in search of the notorious American Dream. I included the Native Americans as well. Even though they didn’t migrate here, they were removed from their land sent off in search of a new land. They too experienced many hardships due to the European immigrants coming in.

I really like this box. Just as Cornell used other figures, usually famous actresses, to learn something about himself. I am using an image of someone other than myself, in hopes of learning more about my Oma and where my family came from. However, there is a little more connection because she is my Grandmother. While I do talk to my Grandma a lot, she is very cloaked in religion. It is very hard to talk to her about anything other than Jesus and you definitely can’t talk to her about life before Jesus because she is embarrassed of her past. So, while I feel I know her, I don’t. I liked the idea of using a figure that I should know really well. My Oma is a woman very close to me, and yet distant. I know exactly who she is and where she comes from. Who her children are and who her grandchildren are. However, I don’t know her past. I can’t imagine what it was like to grow up in Germany. I don’t know what it was like to move to a country you don’t know. And only return to your native country two more times in your life. I have to use Malamud’s stories to piece together an image of her past for myself.

